Rennovation of Grade II* Listed Mill House
Built around 1802, this unique building operated as a working mill until the latter part of the 19th century, but today, what we see dates mainly from the 1920’s. It was famously nicknamed ‘Hudson’s Retreat’ after being renovated in the 1930’s by Sir Edwin Lutyens for the owner of ‘Country Life’ magazine, Edward Hudson. The house was used by Hudson whilst the Elizabethan manor house and gardens were being renovated and re-modelled.
Lutyens was one of the greatest of the UK’s country house architects and for this reason, the mill house received a grade II* listing.
MHD Architects were appointed to design and oversee essential repairs and sensitive renovation works, which involved close liaisons with the local authority and conservationists.